Matters pertaining to assessment and accreditation at Whitman College fall under the responsibilities of the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Kendra Golden ( The College’s Assessment Committee, chaired by the Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, consists of one faculty member from each of the three academic divisions, as well as the Director of Institutional Research (Neal Christopherson), the Director of Academic Resources, and the Director of Instructional & Learning Technology (David Sprunger).


Information about the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities' new accreditation standards and procedures can be found on the Commission's web site. The new Standards can be found here on their website.

Whitman College’s Assessment Committee meets regularly to work on documents and tasks associated with accreditation that is required by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities.  The Year One Report was submitted to the NWCCU in September 2011. In this document, the College identifies its mission and core themes as an institution. To this end, the Assessment Committee has gathered ideas for the core themes from College documents (e.g., Strategic Plan, the Mission Statement, the College’s Trustee Statement on Diversity), as well as met with various campus constituencies to receive feedback during the Year One Report drafting process in 2010-2011. Past accreditation reports, as well as information about the new accreditation cycle, are linked below.  The bottom link is the final draft of the Year One Self Evaluation Report.

Questions about Whitman’s accreditation process in the NWCCU may be addressed to the College’s Accreditation Liaison Officer, Kendra Golden ( .

Accreditation Links and Documents: