barnFarm committees at Whitman trace back to the 1930s, when farm mortgages came into the college’s investment portfolio. The “modern” Whitman Farm Committee took root in 1950, when Whitman President Chester Maxey appointed a group of four local farmers — Henry Copeland, Lester Robison, Ed Tucker and Clarence Braden — to oversee its farm holdings.

The current all-volunteer group acts as a kind of professional management team for Whitman’s extensive farm assets, working on everything from soil conservation to lease agreements. Members tour all 15 Whitman farm properties twice a year.

The committee oversees a combined 22,000 acres of farmland stretching over four counties: Walla Walla, Umatilla, Garfield and Columbia.

Committee Office Name Governing Board or Staff Role
Chair Alexander C. McGregor ’71 Overseer Emeritus
Vice Chair Court Wyckoff ’00 Trustee
  Dwelley E. Jones ’74  
  Donald T. Lieuallen ’58  
 Ex-officio Bradley M. McMurchie ’84 Trustee
  Laura M. Minnick  
  Brad W. Tompkins  
  Mark S. Vogler ’74  
  David W. Wyckoff ’67 Trustee Emeritus
  Robert L. Zagelow  
  Jerry Zahl  
Ex-officio James K. Hayner Trustee Emeritus
YWCA Representative Anne-Marie Zell Schwerin ’85  
Staff Liaison Peter Harvey ’84 Chief Financial Officer
Staff Liaison Justin D. Rodegerdts '05 Manager of Investments
Administrative Support Nancy Jungmann Executive Assistant to the CFO

Back to Top