The annual Janice Abraham Award is presented to Whitman College staff (non-faculty) members who have made significant contributions and provided outstanding service to the college. The award honors and celebrates staff who go above and beyond job expectations, bring forward creative and innovative ideas, promote the philosophy of customer service and contribute to the excellence found at Whitman. Nominations may come from staff or faculty and are submitted to the Human Resources office in April and May. The awards are presented at the staff luncheon held in June, and winners receive a cash award and a personalized plaque.

Janice Abraham Award Recipients

Lish Riley Outdoor Program
Robert Fricke Technology Services
Bridget Jacobson Dean of Students

Rich Pengra Penrose Library
Rich Anderson Printing Services
Karene Gonzalez Counseling Center

Jennifer Northam Alumni Relations
Shirley Harper Residence Life

Mike Osterman Technology Services
Laura Cummings Off-Campus Studies

Larry North Division III
Jen Pope Penrose Library
Richele Loney Division II

John DeLaney Security
Cate Lyon WCTS
Nancy Jungmann Treasurer's Office

Michelle Shafer Division III
Kyle Singer WCTS
Nancy Tavelli Dean of Students' Office

Pat Sorenson Division II
Travis Congleton Communications

Carol Harris Human Resources
Kynde Kiefel Sheehan Gallery
Eugenio Rojas Physical Plant

Martha Jantz Health Center
Joelle Chavre Technology Services

Oscar Waggoner Physical Plant
Dona LaFran Penrose Library
Nancy Mitchell Alumni Relations

Jim French Physical Plant
Tamara Tinhof Development
Marilyn Ponti Financial Aid
Jerry Clifton Technology Services

Fran Meyer Business Office
Patti Moss Division III

Margaret Hoglund Alumni Relations
David Sprunger WCTS
George Theo Student Activities

Chris Bishop Communications
Brien Sheedy Outdoor Programs
Kevin Wright Physical Plant
Kathy Yeager Business Office

Barbara Barlow WCTS
Betty Linke Communications
Larry Malott Physical Plant
Jim Schueler Physical Plant

Bob Biles Physical Plant
Susan Holme Study Abroad
Barbara Cox Admission

Sally Hooker Dean of Faculty Office
Mike Hubbard WCTS
Ed Matthews Physical Plant

Greg Cuff Physical Plant
Joyce Muzzall Music
Elaine Prentice Communications

Martha Holt Science
Kevin Kelly WCTS
Craig McKinnon Security

Clare Carson Academic Resources
Jack Delaney Physical Plant