Convocation in Cordiner Hall

Friday, August 24, 2012
3 p.m.
Cordiner Hall

All new students are requested to sit together in the marked rows toward the front of the auditorium.

Processional — the audience is requested to stand for the Processional
Kraig Scott, Professor of Music, Walla Walla University; Music Assistant, Whtiman College, organ

Welcome and Introductions
George S. Bridges, President

"Welcome to the Corner of Boyer Ave. and Memory Lane"
Kayvon Behroozian '14, President of the Associated Students of Whitman College

Presentation of the Class of 2016
J. Antonio “Tony” Cabasco ’90, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid

Introduction of Convocation Speaker
Timothy V. Kaufman-Osborn, Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Convocation Address: "Taking the Adventure"
Roberta Davidson, Professor of English

Musical Interlude
Sonatina - III, Allegro giocoso,
Eldin Burton
Kristi Von Handorf '14, flute
Jackie Wood, Senior Lecturer of Music, piano accompanist

Ufaratsta, Robert Schoenfield
Minseon Song '14, flute
Kristin Vining, Music Assistant, Piano

Opening of the Academic Year
George S. Bridges, President

Recessional — the audience is requested to stand for the Recessional
Kraig Scott, organ