Jump the navigation

Convocation 2021


Watch Convocation Ceremony

Whitman College's annual Convocation ceremony is a calling together of everyone on campus — students, faculty and staff — to mark the beginning of the next academic cycle, and to welcome the incoming class of first-year students into our community.

The 2021 Convocation cerermony took place on Monday, August 30 at 4 p.m. The ceremony was livestreamed on this webpage.

Speakers included: Tejashree Jadhav (Power and Privilege co-chair), Salma Anguiano (ASWC president), and Kurt Hoffman introducing the 2021-22 Academic Theme. The Convocation address, "Breath," will be delivered by Lauren Osborne (associate professor of religion).

Kraig Scott, Professor of Music, Walla Walla University, organist

Welcome and Introductions
Kendra Golden, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

One Thousand Five Hundred Whitties
Tejashree Jadhav ’24, Power and Privilege Co-Chair

Change Is Necessary
Salma Anguiano ’22, President of the Associated Students of Whitman College

Musical Interlude: Heimkehr and Zueignung, Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Leisha Casimiro ’22, mezzo-soprano
Jackie Wood, Senior Lecturer of Music, piano
lyrical translations below

2021-2022 Academic Theme: "Climate Reckonings, Climate Justice"
Kurt Hoffman, Professor of Physics

Introduction of Convocation Speaker
Kendra Golden, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Convocation Address: “Breath”
Lauren E. Osborne, Associate Professor of Religion, Whitman College

Musical Interlude: Let the Life I’ve Lived Speak for Me, Gwyneth Walker (b. 1947)
Leisha Casimiro ’22, mezzo-soprano
Jackie Wood, Senior Lecturer of Music, piano

Opening of the Academic Year
Kathleen M. Murray, President

Kraig Scott, organist

Platform Party
Sharon Alker, Mary A. Denny Professor of English and General Studies and Chair of Division II
Salma Anguiano ’22, President of the Associated Students of Whitman College
Shampa Biswas, Judge and Mrs.Timothy A. Paul Chair of Political Science, Professor of Politics and Chair of Division I
Kendra Golden, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Associate Professor of Biology
Rebecca Roman Hanrahan, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Chair of the Faculty
Kurt Hoffman, Professor of Physics
Tejashree Jadhav ’24, Power and Privilege Co-Chair
John Johnson, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
Kazi Joshua, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Helen Kim, Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Professor of Sociology
Kathleen M. Murray, President
Albert W. Schueller, Mina Schwabacher Professor of Mathematics and Chair of Division III
Lauren E. Osborne, Associate Professor of Religion

American Sign Language Interpreter
Cori Jones

Whitman College Faculty Milestones
Effective with the 2021-2022 Academic Year

Promotion to Professor
Timothy H. Parker, Professor of Biology

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor
Eunice L. Blavascunas, Associate Professor of Anthropology and Environmental Studies
Rachel L. George, Associate Professor of Anthropology
Krista H. Gulbransen, Associate Professor of Art History and Visual Culture Studies
Britney L. Moss, Associate Professor of Biology, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Molecular Biology
Lyman P. Persico, Associate Professor of Geology and Environmental Studies
Alvaro Santana-Acuña, Associate Professor of Sociology

Promotion to Senior Rank (non-tenure-track)
Wencui Zhao, Senior Lecturer of Asian and Middle Eastern Studies, Chinese

Additional Information

beaker duck hiker icon-a-to-z icon-arrow-circle-down icon-arrow-circle-up icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar-no-circle icon-calendar icon-camera icon-clock icon-cv icon-dot icon-down-triangle icon-email-circle icon-email icon-external-link icon-facebook icon-flickr icon-generic-blog icon-google-plus icon-home icon-instagram icon-library icon-link-circle icon-link-inverted icon-linkedin icon-lock icon-magazine icon-map-pin icon-map2 icon-menu-hamburger icon-menu-mobile-a icon-menu-mobile-b icon-menu-x icon-mywhitman-cog icon-news icon-phone icon-pinterest icon-play icon-quote icon-search-a icon-search-b icon-search-mobile-a icon-search-mobile-b icon-share icon-snail-mail icon-tumblr icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube logo-whitman-nc-flat logo-whitman-nc-stacked logo-whitman-no-clocktower slider-category-arrow-2px slider-category-arrow-no-line slider-category-arrow-solid slider-category-arrow slider-category-line-2px slider-category-line-solid slider-category-line tc_icon-filmstrip-fl tc_icon-filmstrip-ln tc_icon-play-fl-closed tc_icon-play-fl-open tc_icon-play-ln-closed tc_icon-play-ln-open wifi