Jump the navigation

Convocation 2022

Whitman College’s annual Convocation ceremony is a calling together of everyone on campus — students, faculty and staff — to mark the beginning of the next academic cycle, and to welcome the incoming class of first-year students into our community.

Convocation took place on Monday, August 29, 2022 at 4 p.m. in Cordiner Hall.

Convocation 2022 Video

2022 Convocation Program

Kraig Scott, Professor of Music, Walla Walla University, organist

Welcome and Introductions
Alzada J. Tipton, Provost and Dean of the Faculty

“Climbing Mountains”
Gabby Rose ’23, President, Associated Students of Whitman College

“Calling Each Other In”
Merry Cockroft ‘24, Co-Executive Director, Power and Privilege Symposium

Musical Interlude
Irene Tsai '23, pianist

Academic Theme: “Climate Justice, Climate Action”
Andrew Harter '24, Student Representative, Academic Theme Committee

Convocation Address: “Will AI Write Your Thesis?”
Janet Davis, Associate Professor and Microsoft Chair of Computer Science

Musical Interlude
Gillian Mackay Brown ’23, vocalist
Tom Hicks, Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, pianist

Opening of the Academic Year
Sarah R. Bolton, President

Kraig Scott, organist

Platform Party
Sharon Alker, Chair of Division II and Mary A. Denny Professor of English 
Sarah R. Bolton, President
Merry Cockroft ‘24, Power and Privilege Symposium Co-Executive Director
John Cotts, Chair of Division I and Professor of History
Rebecca Hanrahan, Chair of the Faculty and Associate Professor of Philosophy
Helen Kim, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Sociology
Andrew Harter ‘24, Student Representative, Academic Theme Committee
Mary Raschko, Associate Dean for Faculty Development and Associate Professor of English 
Gabby Rose ‘23, President of the Associated Students of Whitman College
Albert Schueller, Chair of Division III and Mina Schwabacher Professor of Mathematics 
Alzada J. Tipton, Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Whitman College Faculty Milestones
Effective with the 2022-2023 Academic Year

Promotion to Professor
M Acuff, Professor of Art
Christopher Leise, Professor of English
Alzada J. Tipton, Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Tenure and Promotion to Associate Professor
Matthew W. Bost, Associate Professor of Rhetoric, Writing, & Public Discourse
Tarik A. Elseewi, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Maria C. Lux, Associate Professor of Art
Marian Manic, Associate Professor of Economics
John C. Stratton, Associate Professor of Computer Science

Promotion to Senior Rank (non-tenure-track)
Stan Thayne, Senior Lecturer of Environmental Studies
Chetna Chopra, Senior Adjunct Assistant Professor of Rhetoric, Writing, and Public Discourse and General Studies

College Marshal
Helen Kim, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Sociology 

Faculty Marshal
Barry Balof, Professor of Mathematics

Student Marshals (Class of 2023)
Ankit Bhattara
Devon Player
Ella Veljovich 

American Sign Language Interpreters
Cori Jones
Paula Bazinet

beaker duck hiker icon-a-to-z icon-arrow-circle-down icon-arrow-circle-up icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar-no-circle icon-calendar icon-camera icon-clock icon-cv icon-dot icon-down-triangle icon-email-circle icon-email icon-external-link icon-facebook icon-flickr icon-generic-blog icon-google-plus icon-home icon-instagram icon-library icon-link-circle icon-link-inverted icon-linkedin icon-lock icon-magazine icon-map-pin icon-map2 icon-menu-hamburger icon-menu-mobile-a icon-menu-mobile-b icon-menu-x icon-mywhitman-cog icon-news icon-phone icon-pinterest icon-play icon-quote icon-search-a icon-search-b icon-search-mobile-a icon-search-mobile-b icon-share icon-snail-mail icon-tumblr icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube logo-whitman-nc-flat logo-whitman-nc-stacked logo-whitman-no-clocktower slider-category-arrow-2px slider-category-arrow-no-line slider-category-arrow-solid slider-category-arrow slider-category-line-2px slider-category-line-solid slider-category-line tc_icon-filmstrip-fl tc_icon-filmstrip-ln tc_icon-play-fl-closed tc_icon-play-fl-open tc_icon-play-ln-closed tc_icon-play-ln-open wifi