Jump the navigation

Convocation 2011

Convocation in Cordiner Hall

Friday, August 26, 2011
3 p.m. Cordiner Hall

Processional — the audience is requested to stand for the Processional
Kraig Scott, Professor of Music, Walla Walla University; Music Assistant, Whitman College, organ

Welcome and Introductions
George S. Bridges, President

Matt Dittrich ’12, President of the Associated Students of Whitman College

Presentation of the Class of 2015 
J. Antonio “Tony” Cabasco ’90, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid

Introduction of Convocation Speaker
Timothy V. Kaufman-Osborn, Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Convocation Address: “To Be of Use in a Warming World”
Philip D. Brick, Miles C. Moore Professor of Political Science

Musical Interlude 
Danse Espagnole, Manuel de Falla
Joshua Melander ’14, violin
Melissa Loehnig, Visiting Assistant Professor of Music, piano

Opening of the Academic Year
George S. Bridges, President

Recessional — the audience is requested to stand for the Recessional
Kraig Scott, organ


beaker duck hiker icon-a-to-z icon-arrow-circle-down icon-arrow-circle-up icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar-no-circle icon-calendar icon-camera icon-clock icon-cv icon-dot icon-down-triangle icon-email-circle icon-email icon-external-link icon-facebook icon-flickr icon-generic-blog icon-google-plus icon-home icon-instagram icon-library icon-link-circle icon-link-inverted icon-linkedin icon-lock icon-magazine icon-map-pin icon-map2 icon-menu-hamburger icon-menu-mobile-a icon-menu-mobile-b icon-menu-x icon-mywhitman-cog icon-news icon-phone icon-pinterest icon-play icon-quote icon-search-a icon-search-b icon-search-mobile-a icon-search-mobile-b icon-share icon-snail-mail icon-tumblr icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube logo-whitman-nc-flat logo-whitman-nc-stacked logo-whitman-no-clocktower slider-category-arrow-2px slider-category-arrow-no-line slider-category-arrow-solid slider-category-arrow slider-category-line-2px slider-category-line-solid slider-category-line tc_icon-filmstrip-fl tc_icon-filmstrip-ln tc_icon-play-fl-closed tc_icon-play-fl-open tc_icon-play-ln-closed tc_icon-play-ln-open wifi