Jessica Palacios '16 was a summer intern for Milkweed Press, a winner of both the Class of 1986 Minority Student award and the Russell J. DeRemer award, and  the 2016 Baccalaureate speech writer.

Molly Walls' paper "Moby-Click: Deconstructionism, the Internet, and Placing Melville in the Tech Age," is the winner of the 2016 Jackson Award!


Edward Daschle '15 (English Major) is now a European Humanities Program Assistant at DIS: Study Abroad in Scandinavia.

Fulbright Student Program


Hanne Jensen ’14 received a Fulbright grant to teach English in Germany.


Alumna Brianna Gormly '13 is the new Digital Initiatives Librarian at Franklin & Marshall College.


Patricia Vanderbilt, '12 taught English in New Dehli on Fulbright-Nehru grant.


Bridget Kustin '05 won a Fulbright full grant which funded her project to conduct research regarding the role of Islam in the lives of women working in garment factories in Dhaka, Bangladesh.  Bridget is now a graduate student in Anthropology at the Johns Hopkins University, were she studies theologies of money, specifically Islamic banking and finance in Bangladesh and Saudi Arabia.  Within this field, she is interested in Islamic microinvestment, transnational regulation, risk, speculation, social justice, capitalism, and questions of authority, performativity, nationalism and development.  Previously, she served as the South Asia Researcher for the U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom, a federal, bipartisan agency providing foreign policy recommendations to the President, Congress, and Secretary of State.


Candace Barlow won a Fulbright Fellowship to study in Germany. Candace was a double major in English and German.


Juniper Ellis won a Fulbright Fellowship to study in New Zealand.

Thomas J. Watson Fellowship Recipients


Tara Ebrahimi, an Iranian-American, won the Watson J. Fellowship to study the role of women in Islamic Sufi culture. Ebrahimi visited a number of Sufi communities in Europe and Australia and went on to earn her M.F.A. in Nonfiction Writing from the University of Pittsburgh and is currently Corporate Communications Director at the Navigators Group, Inc. and a member of the Association of Iranian American Writers. Her award-winning writing has appeared in CreativeNonfication, The Seattle Times, RIVET Magazine, Elan Magazine, Whitehot Magazine, and "Keep It Real: Everything You Need to Know About Researching and Writing Creative Nonfiction (Norton, 2008), and is forthcoming in Love and Pomegranates: New Voices Celebrating Iran.  She has been in residence at both Hedgebrook and the Millay Colony for the Arts, where she was on the jury in 2008.


Daniel Myers, an English/Music major at Whitman and a graduate of Gonzaga Preparatory School of Spokane, Washington visited the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland to study traditional Irish music and to master the uillean pipes.


Kinoka Onnah Ogsbury won a Thomas J. Watson Fellowship ($18,000) for her project on weaving as a form of cross-cultural communication in Guatemala, Indonesia, Laos, Thailand, and Bhutan. She majored in English and minored in Spanish, speaks Arapahoe, and has studied French for nine years and Spanish for three.

Amanda Walker won a Thomas J. Watson Fellowship ($18,000) for her project on theatrical combat. She will study with professional fight directors in London and visit museums and castles in England, Scotland, Germany, and Austria to study Medieval and Renaissance weapons and armor. She is a double-major in English and Theatre.


Chris DeBenedetti won a Thomas J. Watson Fellowship ($16,000) for his study of traditional beer brewing techniques in West Africa and Europe.

Beinecke Memorial Scholarship Recipients


Gabriella Friedman '13 won a Beinecke Memorial Scholarship to pursue graduate studies in comparative literature. Gabriella also received a French Teaching Assistantship (TAPIF).


Sonya Hess won a Beinecke Memorial Scholarship to pursue graduate study in creative writing.


Jessica Palmer won the Beinecke Memorial Scholarship ($32,000). Jessica, a double major in English and Biology, also won a Goldwater Scholarship ($7,500), an award in science.

Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship in the Humanities

In addition to a Fullbright Fellowship, Juniper Ellis won an Andrew W. Mellon Fellowship in the Humanities (1992-97) and a Jacob J. Javits Fellowship (1992; declined).

Other Andrew W. Mellon Fellowships in the Humanities have been won by Eric Spencer, Nathan (Nate) Johnson, and Karen Kingsbury.