Professor Alberto Ortega will join the Economics Department in Fall 2017 and will teach Intermediate Microeconomics, Public Economics, and Principles of Microeconomics. Professor Ortega is from the University of Florida.

Professor Marian Manic joined the Economics Department in Fall 2016, and will teach Principles of Macroeconomics, Financial Accounting and Introductcion to Financial Economics.  Professor Manic earned his Ph.D. in Economics and his M.B.A. at the University of South Carolina. 

Professors Halefom Belay and Jan Crouter were the recipients of Whitman College faculty awards in May 2015.  Professor Belay received the George Ball Award for Excellence in Advising, and Professor Crouter received the Robert Y. Fluno Award for Distinguished Teaching in the Social Sciences.

Professor Pete Parcells presented his research on the "Economic Outlook for Washington State" at the 56th Annual Meeting of the WRSA (Western Regional Science Association) in Santa Fe, NM in February 2017. He is also a Board Member of the WRSA. His current research on the Washington State Economic Outlook will be presented at the WRSA Annual Meeting in Feb 2018 (Pasadena, CA). Professor Parcells also participated in the 2017 Olympia Economics Symposium (Olympia, WA, Oct 2017), and in addition to being the Advisor to the Whitman Investment Company Student Group, is the WIC advisor for Whitman College's participation in the CFA Research Challenge. (Chartered Financial Analyst student competition.) The Challenge covers fall and spring semesters 2017-2018 with the final competition taking place in Spokane, WA against other Colleges and Universities. Parcells is currently on the Advisory Board for Pearson Publishers, a Referee for the Journal of Economic Education, a Focus Group Reviewer and Advisor for Norton Publishers, and coordinates activities for the Whitman College Prison Research Group. (WCPRG).

The Economics Department will host a Visiting Lecturer in 2017.  Bruce Greenwald the Robert Heilbrunn Professor of Finance and Asset Management, and Director of the Heilbrunn Center for Graham and Dodd Investing at Columbia University will be visiting campus in October, 2017.

2017 Department Honors and Recognition

The James F. Shepherd Award for Outstanding Economics Graduate was given to Nick Johnson. The award was instituted to honor Professor Jim Shepherd and to recognize each year’s outstanding senior student in the Economics Department.  

The Department of Economics Student Achievement Award was given to Trevor Lewis. The award recognizes excellence in the study of Economics

The Economics Department is grateful for the efforts of students who served the department during the 2016-2017 year:

Senior Class Representatives

  • Alysse Ketner
  • Sam Reddy

Search Committee Student Representatives

  • Ye He
  • Gambhir Kunwar
  • Spencer Mueller
  • Gabriella Rocco
  • Kanupria Sanu  

Economics Department Awards, 1962-2017

WSJ refers to the Wall Street Journal Student Achievement Award; JFS refers to the Whitman College James F. Shepherd Award for Outstanding Economics Graduate; SAA refers to the Whitman College Economics Department Student Achievement Award.

1962 Wesley Roland Fields WSJ
1963 Stephen Smith McConnel WSJ
1964 Walter Clifford Minnick WSJ
1965 Richard Wakefield Tatman WSJ
1966 Donald John Vogt WSJ
1967 Thomas Watson Church, Jr. WSJ
1968 Richard Irvin King WSJ
1969 Gary Lee Wolfstone WSJ
1970 Richard Hathaway Blaker WSJ
1971 James David Vaughn WSJ
1972 James Lee Fogle WSJ
1973 Stuart Foster Henigson WSJ
1974 Lynne Hideko Himeda WSJ
1975 David John Wardenaar WSJ
1976 Elizabeth Neils WSJ
1977 Cecil William Baxter III WSJ
1978 Thomas Howard Hill WSJ
1979 Kristine Marie Johnson WSJ
1980 Richard William Seibold WSJ
1981 Ralph David Simpson WSJ
1982 James Brian Pogue WSJ
1983 Arthur Buell Ish III WSJ
1984 Dale Robert Weideman WSJ
1985 Cecily Elizabeth McCowen WSJ
1986 Thomas Brent Baker WSJ
1987 Patricia Kimiko Yamane WSJ
1988 Jeffrey Craig Clark WSJ
1989 Brian Patrick McCracken WSJ
1990 Scott Patrick Alderman WSJ
1991 Robert Alan Hinnen WSJ
1992 Scott Nelson Phillips WSJ
1993 Angelo Radostinov Moskov WSJ
1994 Rea Lynn Culwell WSJ
1995 Karol Marcin WSJ
1996 Lucie Starns McCoy WSJ
1997 Amanda Marie Kernen WSJ
1998 David Eric Toomey WSJ
1999 Peter Benjamin Stiffler WSJ
2000 Gary Jacob Hunter WSJ
2001 Michael M. Caughey WSJ
2002 Erich R.v.O Wolf WSJ
2003 Maurice Gordon Solomon WSJ
2004 Laura Paola Vizcaino JFS
  Jessica Law Branom-Zwick JFS
2005 Katie Elizabeth Santorsola JFS
  Laura A. Bakkensen JFS
2006 Brian James Ritchie JFS
  Michael Scott Wert WSJ
2008 Benjamin Keefer JFS
  David Alexander Greenwood-Sanchez WSJ
2009 Gareth E. Olds (JFS) JFS
  Patricia "Alex" Robinson  WSJ
2010 Jenna Elizabeth Stearns JFS
  Elizabeth Forsyth  WSJ
2011 Leah Nicole Wheeler JFS
  Meredith Laurance Danko  SAA
2012 Erik William Lyon  JFS
  Alexander Ardeshir Zendeh  SAA
2013 Nicholas Max Marquiss JFS
  Shanglun Wang  SAA
2014 Gabriel Lewis  JFS
  Eli Lewis  SAA
2015 Yonah Biers-Ariel JFS
  Noah Jensen


2016 Marissa Lynn Childs


Keely Mariette Adjorlolo


2017 Nick Johnson


Trevor Lewis SAA