Meet the leadership of the Whitman College Debate Team.

  • Lauran Schaefer

    Lauran Schaefer

    Director of Debate

    Reid Campus Center 206

    Lauran Schaefer earned both her bachelor of arts and masters of arts in communication studies from Texas Tech University. She went on to Southern Illinois University where she earned her doctor of philosophy in communication studies, A.B.D.

    She debated at Texas Tech from 2008 - 2012 and coached there from 2012 - 2015. She also coached for William Jewell College. While at William Jewell, her team won the National Parliamentary Debate Association National Tournament in 2016.

    Lauran has 14 years of debate experience and has coached Parliamentary (NPDA/NPTE), Lincoln Douglas, and Cross Examination Debate.

  • Baker Weilert

    Baker Weilert

    Assistant Director of Debate

    Reid Campus Center 217

    Baker Weilert earned both his bachelor of arts and master of arts in communications studies from Arkansas State University.

    He debated and later became the assistant coach at Arkansas State. In addition, he was also an adjunct professor of communication.

    Baker has 12 years of debate experience having coached or competed in Parliamentary (NPDA/NPTE), Public Forum, Lincoln Douglas, Policy, IPDA, WUDC/Worlds, and British Parliamentary.