The Order of Omega was founded at the University of Miami in the fall of 1959 by a group of outstanding fraternity men, who felt that individuals in the Greek community should be recognized for their service to the fraternity system and the University. Currently, there are over 400 Order of Omega chapters on campuses throughout the United States. You can learn more at

The Sigma Alpha chapter of the Order of Omega was founded at Whitman College in May 1999. Criteria for selection into the Order of Omega is based on the following:

  • Junior class standing
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.40 or better
  • Significant leadership position in a Greek organization
  • Campus and community involvement
  • Honors and awards

The following students are 2013 Order of Omega initiates. Congratulations to them for their outstanding academic and leadership achievements!

  • Chelsea Darlington - Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • Sandra Matsevilo - Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Sara Mecca - Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • John Mighell - Phi Delta Theta
  • Chris Perkins - Tau Kappa Epsilon
  • Mykhanh Pham - Kappa Alpha Theta
  • Kelsey Roehner - Alpha Phi
  • Nick Shariat - Sigma Chi
  • Lauren Smith - Kappa Kappa Gamma
  • Ahren Stroming - Phi Delta Theta
  • Taylor Thomas - Alpha Phi
  • Laura West - Delta Gamma
  • Alice Willson - Alpha Phi
  • Daniel Zajic - Sigma Chi