Jump the navigation


First-Year Seminars: Asking Complex Questions (GENS-175) and Making Powerful Arguments (GENS-176). GENS-175 is completed by all students during their first fall semester at Whitman College, with the exception of transfer students entering with junior standing (58 or more acceptable credits). GENS-176 is completed by all first-year students in the spring semester. While transfer students are encouraged to enroll in GENS 176 as well, they may receive equivalent credit for a comparable course at another institution.

All students are required to complete the following distribution areas:

  • Cultural Pluralism – 2 courses totaling at least 6 credits
  • Fine Arts – a minimum of 6 credits
    • A student may not use more than 8 credits from any one department to satisfy the requirements in Humanities and Fine Arts.
  • Humanities – a minimum of 6 credits
  • Quantitative Analysis – one course of 3 of more credits
    • Courses counting toward Quantitative Analysis may also be applied to other distribution areas concurrently.
  • Science – a minimum of 6 credits, including at least 1 course with a laboratory
  • Social Science – a minimum of 6 credits

Access the Whitman College catalog General Studies and distribution requirements at: https://www.whitman.edu/catalog

beaker duck hiker icon-a-to-z icon-arrow-circle-down icon-arrow-circle-up icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar-no-circle icon-calendar icon-camera icon-clock icon-cv icon-dot icon-down-triangle icon-email-circle icon-email icon-external-link icon-facebook icon-flickr icon-generic-blog icon-google-plus icon-home icon-instagram icon-library icon-link-circle icon-link-inverted icon-linkedin icon-lock icon-magazine icon-map-pin icon-map2 icon-menu-hamburger icon-menu-mobile-a icon-menu-mobile-b icon-menu-x icon-mywhitman-cog icon-news icon-phone icon-pinterest icon-play icon-quote icon-search-a icon-search-b icon-search-mobile-a icon-search-mobile-b icon-share icon-snail-mail icon-tumblr icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube logo-whitman-nc-flat logo-whitman-nc-stacked logo-whitman-no-clocktower slider-category-arrow-2px slider-category-arrow-no-line slider-category-arrow-solid slider-category-arrow slider-category-line-2px slider-category-line-solid slider-category-line tc_icon-filmstrip-fl tc_icon-filmstrip-ln tc_icon-play-fl-closed tc_icon-play-fl-open tc_icon-play-ln-closed tc_icon-play-ln-open wifi