Whitman's Center for Teaching and Learning (CTL) provides resources to faculty for enhancing teaching and learning at Whitman College. Recognizing that excellent teaching focuses on student learning and that there are diverse ways to pursue excellent teaching, the Center organizes programs to promote reflection on teaching practices and foster innovation among the faculty. We believe strongly in the value of dedicated time to learn about the research on teaching and learning and to discuss pedagogical approaches that work in our classrooms, and we know that faculty often learn the most from fellow colleagues.

Founded in 2000, Whitman's CTL is run by a steering committee of dedicated faculty and staff who take an interest in scholarly approaches to teaching and who help to create spaces on campus in which faculty can learn from each other as well as engage with professional resources on teaching and learning that can inform their own work in the classroom. The committee comprises faculty from all of the academic divisions, the Associate Dean for Faculty Development, the Director of Instructional and Learning Technology, the Penrose Library Head of instructional and Research Services, and the Director of Student Success and Disability. At least one member of the steering committee will hold a non-tenure-track faculty appointment and every effort will be made to ensure that one of the faculty is teaching in the first-year Encounters program. The steering committee meets about five times each semester. All of us on the steering committee see it as our responsibility to facilitate networking among Whitman faculty so that our faculty can learn from each other, experiment, and take pedagogical risks in the classroom.

Helen Kim, Chair of the Center for Teaching and Learning Steering Committee
Email: kimh2@whitman.edu
Office Hours: By appointment

Steering Committee for the 2019-2020 Academic Year

Susanne Altermann, Biology (term ending 2020)
Sarah Davies, History (term ending 2021)
Moira Gresham, Physics (term ending 2020)
Lauren Osborne
Lee Keene, Head of Instructional and Research Services, Penrose Library
Janet Mallen, Assistant Director of Academic Resources: Student Success
Helen Kim, Associate Dean for Faculty Development, Chair 
David Sprunger, Director of Instructional & Learning Technology