The R.V. Borleske (top male) and Mignon Borleske (top female) awards recognize athletic achievement, sportsmanship and leadership.

Brett Axelrod ’09, winner of the men’s trophy, was named Northwest Conference Defensive Player for men’s soccer last fall. Axelrod, a team captain and four-year starter at goalkeeper, led the NWC in shutouts with 10 and was among the national leaders in save percentage and goals against average.

Lindsay Records ’09, the women’s trophy winner, captained the women’s Nordic ski team. She placed second in the freestyle sprint, leading her team to a first-place showing at the U.S. Collegiate Ski & Snowboard Association’s championships. The women were second in the overall week-long scoring.


Etienne Moshevich ’12, Chris Bailey ’11 and Dan Wilson ’11 earned All-NWC First Team honors in leading Whitman to a second straight conference title. Whitman completed its third straight undefeated NWC regular season, advancing for a third straight spring into the NCAA DIII national championship tournament. The team lost at regionals to UC-Santa Cruz, ranked No. 3 nationally.

Justin Hayashi ’09 and Christoph Fuchs ’10 earned spots on ESPN The Magazine’s Academic All-District At-Large First Team, and Fuchs was named to the magazine’s All American At-Large Third Team.


Elise Otto ’12 was named to the All-NWC First Team this spring for a second straight season. Hadley DeBree ’11 was picked for the Second Team.


Pete Stadmeyer ’10, the ace of Whitman’s pitching staff for three seasons, and Erik Korsmo ’12, who led the Missionaries in hitting this spring with a .360 batting average, earned All-NWC Honorable Mention.


The Whitman women’s and men’s club cycling team capped a great spring by winning the USA Cycling Collegiate Road Division II national championship in Fort Collins, Colo. Whitman was a decisive winner with 500 points, beating the runner-up (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) by more than 100 points. Earlier this spring, Whitman captured its Northwest league title by an even greater margin.

Kendi Thomas ’11, who won the criterium at nationals, led a women’s contingent that included Mia Huth ’11, Emily Rodriguez ’11 and Roxy Pierson ’12.

Ben Chaddock ’11 placed fourth in the men’s criterium. Others racing at nationals were Nick Littman ’10, Colin Gibson ’11 and Duncan McGovern ’11.


Whitman came within a single goal of advancing to its national championship tournament in May. The Missionaries beat Willamette 17-4 in the Pacific Northwest Collegiate Lacrosse League (PNCLL) Division II quarterfinals, knocked off top-seeded Southern Oregon University 11-8 in the semifinals, and lost a 10-9 double-overtime heart-breaker to Western Oregon University in the Final Four’s title game.

Goalie Kevin Wilson ’10 was named the Final Four’s Most Valuable Player (MVP). Sunn Kim ’12, who led the PNCLL in scoring, won MVP honors for the regular season and Division II Second-Team All-American honors. David Ogle ’10 and Michael Anderson ’10 were named to the All-PNCLL First Team while Bidnam Lee ’11 received Second-Team honors. Chris Duncan ’11 netted Honorable Mention recognition.

For more sports news, visit the Whitman Athletics Web site.