New men’s basketball, women’s tennis coaches


Ultimate Frisbee: Sweet spirit of the game

Men win NWC tennis title

Coach Molitor accepts new Whitman role

W Club Board named

Whitman Scoreboard

Borleske Trophies

The R.V. Borleske Trophy (top male) and Mignon Borleske Trophy (top female) recognize athletic achievement, sportsmanship and leadership. 2008 R.V. Borleske Trophy: Max Weber ’08 and Clint Collier ’08. Weber, of Great Falls, Mont., is a soccer midfielder and team captain who helped lead Whitman to a winning season in 2007. Team captain Collier, Albuquerque, N.M., broke a 13-year-old school record in the 100-yard breaststroke while placing sixth in the NWC championships in 2008. 2008 Mignon Borleske Trophy: Erin Pettersen ’08, Kirkland, Wash., made history this spring as the first Whitman swimmer to qualify for the NCAA National Championships.


Nancy Alexander ’08, Tigard, Ore., won the Northwest Conference 200-yard backstroke title for the third straight year and helped Pettersen (above) power their team to a third-place NWC finish. Eric Molnar ’10 gave the men’s swim team its first individual NWC title in seven years with a win in the 400-yard individual medley.


Nordic skier Devon Spika ’10, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, is the only Division III skier from the western U.S. to qualify for the NCAA National Championships. She placed 33rd in both the classic and freestyle races at nationals. She also was named to ESPN The Magazine’s Academic All-District At-Large Team.


Chris Faidley ’09, Shoreline, Wash., led the NWC in scoring with 22.4 points and was named to the All-NWC Second Team. Michelle Krall ’10, Poway, Calif., also was named to the women’s Second Team.

Cycling Club

Ten members of the nationally ranked Whitman cycling team were among 500 elite cyclers in the three-day 2008 Tour of Walla Walla bike race in April. It is the first time Whitman cyclers competed in the 12-year-old race. The team’s participation was funded by tour organizers and Orbea USA.