Chair of the Whitman College Board of Trustees Brad McMurchie announced today that Dr. Kathleen Murray, Provost and Dean of the Faculty at Macalester College, will become Whitman College's 14th President. Murray will succeed current President George Bridges, who will conclude his service on June 30, 2015 after leading the College for 10 years.

The Board of Trustees unanimously approved Murray's appointment at its meeting on November 7. Murray rose to the top in a pool of candidates as the nationwide search -- led by a search committee comprised of Whitman College trustees, alumni, faculty, staff and students -- progressed.  The committee considered several highly accomplished leaders from a large group of candidates with diverse backgrounds.

According to Chair McMurchie, "Kathy, with her rich history at institutions like Whitman, brings us a new perspective, but a perspective that has the experience we need to lead us forward at this particular stage of the College's evolution."

Read more »