WALLA WALLA, Wash.— It was a night to celebrate Tuesday as Whitman College Athletics held its annual Awards Dessert at Reid Center.

Three seniors had their names added to the coveted Borleske Trophies, which are given to the top senior athletes, male and female, each spring.

The 2011 Borleske Trophy recipients, as decided by an earlier vote of the coaching staff, are tennis ace Elise Otto on the women's side and two athletes who split the vote on the men's side — Justin Artis (basketball) and Etienne Moshevich (tennis).

The Borleske trophies recognize athletic ability and accomplishments, leadership and sportsmanship qualities, and contributions to the campus as a whole. They are given in honor of Raymond Vincent Borleske, who achieved legendary status as a Whitman athlete and coach during the first half of the 20th century, and his wife Mignon Borleske, who taught dance and women's physical education classes for nearly four decades.

Outstanding Performer awards, given annually to top athletes in each class, also were presented Tuesday night.

Winners in senior class are Kristen Ballinger (cross country) and Cooper Crosby (soccer).

The senior awards are given in honor of the late Max Seachris, a former baseball coach and athletic director, and Lee Coleman, a retired swim coach and an early champion of women's intercollegiate athletics.

The junior class recipients are Jenele Peterson (basketball) and Conor Holton-Burke (tennis).

The junior awards are given in honor of retired women's tennis coach Jayne McCarthy, a four-time conference coach of the year, and the late Bob Burgess, a long-time Whitman tennis and basketball coach.

Swimmers Katie Chapman and Paul Chang took home the sophomore class awards while Jillian Davis (volleyball), Josh Duckworth (basketball) and Andrew La Cava (tennis) were winners for the first-year class.