Charley Rosenberry ’81 founded lacrosse at Whitman College in 1980. Now, 30 years later, after also founding the lacrosse program at Vashon Island High School, he has been tapped for induction into the Washington State Lacrosse Hall of Fame by the Washington State Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse.

The induction ceremony takes place Saturday, Oct 23, 2010, at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle. Rosenberry, an attorney, is one of six 2010 inductees.

“Their work has fostered exponential growth in the sport so that today thousands of youth, high school, collegiate and professional athletes and spectators in Washington can enjoy lacrosse,” said Dave Low, executive board president of the Washington State Chapter of U.S. Lacrosse, in a news release.

Since its humble beginnings, Whitman lacrosse has taken flight. Teams from numerous years have competed in playoffs and championship tournaments, winning titles in 1985, from 1988 through 1991 and again in 1995, 1999 and 2001.

At the high school level, Rosenberry’s Vashon squad won the Division II state championship in 1997 and 2005, and he was selected Division II coach of the year in 2003 and 2006.

As Rosenberry’s lacrosse legacy continues on campus, he continues to serve his alma mater. He is a member of the Board of Overseers and has established a scholarship endowment to help students from the Northwest attend Whitman. (Read more about Rosenberry’s endowment gift in the October 2010 Whitman Magazine.) A lacrosse scholarship fund was dedicated to him in 2006, commemorating the 25th anniversary of the sport at Whitman.

Click here to read more about Whitman’s “Lacrosse Tradition.” (Scroll to page 5 of the PDF.)