Jump the navigation

Coronavirus Task Force

Whitman’s Coronavirus Task Force continues to evolve in response to the ongoing pandemic. The current structure involves an overall policy committee as sub-committees to address specific needs of the campus community.

Coronavirus Task Force Structure

The Policy Committee evaluates overall conditions at Whitman, in Walla Walla County and nationally in order to determine the necessary policies and protocols to protect the health of our students, faculty and staff. 

Committee members are:

Peter Harvey, Coronavirus Task Force Chair and Chief Financial Officer
President Kathy Murray
John Johnson, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion
Kazi Joshua, Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Adam Miller, Interim Vice President for Admissions and Financial Aid
Gina Ohnstad, Interim Vice President for Communications
Steve Setchell, Vice President for Development
Alzada Tipton, Provost and Dean of the Faculty
Rebecca Hanrahan, Chair of the Faculty
Shampa Biswas, Chair of Division I (Social Sciences)
Sharon Alker, Chair of Division II (Humanities and Arts)
Albert Schueller, Chair of Division II (Basic Sciences and Mathematics and Statistics)
Jim Russo, Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology (BBMB)

The Policy Committee is also joined by consulting epidemiologist Dr. Ben Miller of The Acheson Group.

The Academic Operations Subcommittee sets practices for classroom operations and other learning opportunities that prioritize the rigorous and engaging education for which Whitman is known while following campus COVID protocols.

Subcommittee members are:

Sharon Alker, Chair of Division II (Humanities and Arts)
Shampa Biswas, Chair of Division I (Social Sciences)
Albert Schueller, Chair of Division III (Basic Sciences and Mathematics and Statistics)
Rebecca Hanrahan, Associate Professor of Philosophy and Chair of the Faculty
Tony Ichsan, Director of Facilities
Jon Loney, Manager of Instructional Media Services
Debi Morehead, Division Assistant in Humanities and Arts
Tristan Rupert, Instructional Media Services Consultant
David Sprunger, Director of Instructional and Learning Technology
Dan Terrio, Chief Information Officer
Alzada Tipton, Provost and Dean of the Faculty
Aimee Walker, Registrar
Alexandra Wog, Registration Services Assistant

The Student Support Subcommittee oversees student life, including club and organizational activities, residence life and student health services.

Subcommittee members are:

Kazi Joshua, Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students and Subcommittee Chair
Claudia Ness, Director of Welty Student Health Center
Nancy Tavelli, Associate Dean of Students: Campus Life
Andrew Johnson, Associate Director of Residence Life and Housing
Cory Kiesz, Custodial Supervisor
Steve Davis, Director of Security
Juli Dunn, Senior Associate Dean of Students
Bridget Jacobson, Associate to the Dean of Students
Greg Lecki, Associate Director of the Intercultural Center for International Student Support Services
Shannon Null, General Manager of  Bon Appétit Management Company 

The Employee Support Subcommittee provides guidance for matters pertaining to employees health and safety as well as compliance with Washington State Labor & Industries guidelines.

Subcommittee members are:

Juli Dunn, Senior Associate Dean of Students and Subcommittee Chair
Peter Harvey, Chief Financial Officer
Tony Ichsan, Director of Facilities
Telara McCullough, Director of Human Resources
Linc Nesheim, Information Security Officer
Heidi Pitts, Internal Communications Strategist
Cara Setchell, Assistant Director of Human Resources
beaker duck hiker icon-a-to-z icon-arrow-circle-down icon-arrow-circle-up icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-right icon-arrow-up icon-calendar-no-circle icon-calendar icon-camera icon-clock icon-cv icon-dot icon-down-triangle icon-email-circle icon-email icon-external-link icon-facebook icon-flickr icon-generic-blog icon-google-plus icon-home icon-instagram icon-library icon-link-circle icon-link-inverted icon-linkedin icon-lock icon-magazine icon-map-pin icon-map2 icon-menu-hamburger icon-menu-mobile-a icon-menu-mobile-b icon-menu-x icon-mywhitman-cog icon-news icon-phone icon-pinterest icon-play icon-quote icon-search-a icon-search-b icon-search-mobile-a icon-search-mobile-b icon-share icon-snail-mail icon-tumblr icon-twitter icon-vimeo icon-youtube logo-whitman-nc-flat logo-whitman-nc-stacked logo-whitman-no-clocktower slider-category-arrow-2px slider-category-arrow-no-line slider-category-arrow-solid slider-category-arrow slider-category-line-2px slider-category-line-solid slider-category-line tc_icon-filmstrip-fl tc_icon-filmstrip-ln tc_icon-play-fl-closed tc_icon-play-fl-open tc_icon-play-ln-closed tc_icon-play-ln-open wifi