The new Whitman College Inclusion Task Force announced by President Kathy Murray earlier this month has been assembled and began individual and small group work last week. Chaired by Thomas Witherspoon, vice president for diversity and inclusion, the full task force met today for the first time. 


Faculty small group: Gaurav Majumdar, associate professor of English; Telara McCullough, director of human resources; Gabby Rose, sophomore from Illinois; Barry Balof, faculty chair

Staff small group: Adeline Rother, senior adjunct assistant professor of general studies and composition; Andrew Johnson, interim director of student activities and associate director of residence life and housing; Maria Martinez, sophomore from Florida; Thomas Witherspoon, vice president for diversity and inclusion 

Student small group: Nate Boland, associate professor of Chemistry; Laura Sanchez, director of the Intercultural Center; Erik Scott, sophomore from Texas; Kazi Joshua, vice president for student affairs

Members at large: Heidi Pitts, internal communications strategist; Sneh Chachra, sophomore from California and president of ASWC

Over the next month, updates and resources from the task force will be shared on the Inclusion Task Force webpage and in Whitman Today. A list of anti-racism resources provides a common starting point as we more deeply engage the journey to inclusion.