The Whitman College Alumni Association Faculty Award for Service is given yearly to a faculty member who has distinguished themselves in service to the Alumni Association.

The 2020 Faculty Award for Service Winner, Michelle Janning, Raymond and Elsie DeBurgh Chair of Social Sciences and Professor of Sociology

Portrait of Michelle Janning

Since her start at Whitman in 2000, Michelle has lent her extensive knowledge of families and intimate relationships, homes and design, inequalities, education, community-based projects, Scandinavian life, social science research methods, and popular culture, to numerous captive audiences gathered for alumni lectures, reunion presentations, and social gatherings. She is a strong supporter of our efforts to connect current students with alumni, meeting with alumni from Minneapolis to Seattle to Austin, Texas - to share research as well as campus news. True to her hospitable Midwest roots, she graciously hosts the Sociology Department open house at her home each year during Reunion Weekend, bringing together generations of alumni to exchange versions of their own Whitman experience. Her service on the renovation committee for Baker Center was instrumental in keeping the design elements true to the era of the house, and creating a welcoming environment for alumni returning to campus.