National deadlines: Fall sports: January 22, 2016 

Winter sports: March 30, 2016 

Spring sports: June 1, 2016  

Eligibility requirements:

  • Student-athlete at an active NCAA member institution
  • Final season of NCAA athletics eligibility or will not be using any remaining athletics eligibility
  • Cumulative GPA of 3.200 (based on a 4.000 scale) or its equivalent
  • Member of the varsity team in sport 
  • Plan to pursue graduate school

Nomination process: Student-athletes must be nominated by the institution's Faculty Athletics Representative (FAR) or a FAR designee (preferably an individual in academics). The FAR or FAR designee is responsible for determining the student-athlete's eligibility to be nominated and for coordinating the completion and submission of the nomination. Each NCAA member institution may nominate no more than five student-athletes per gender, per season. The nomination and supporting information will be accepted only when it is submitted before the sport season's submission deadline.  For detailed instructions on nominating an individual see:

Award summary and conditions: The NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship was created in 1964 to promote and encourage postgraduate education by rewarding the Association's most accomplished student-athletes through their participation in NCAA championship and/or emerging sports. Athletics and academic achievements, as well as campus involvement, community service, volunteer activities and demonstrated leadership, are evaluated. The NCAA awards up to 174 postgraduate scholarships annually, 87 for men and 87 for women. The scholarships are awarded to student-athletes who excel academically and athletically and who are at least in their final year of intercollegiate athletics competition. The one-time grants of $7,500 each are awarded for fall sports, winter sports and spring sports. Each sports season (fall, winter and spring), there are 29 scholarships available for men and 29 scholarships available for women. The scholarships are one-time, non-renewable grants. Award recipients must be accepted into a graduate degree-granting program at an academically accredited graduate or professional school. See home page for detailed information.

Application process: online 

Application requirements: 

  • FAR nomination
  • Personal statement
  • Transcript(s): Applicants must upload official transcripts to complete the application. Official transcripts can be scanned and uploaded to the system as a .pdf document. You must upload all transcripts at one time. Transcripts must reflect ALL undergraduate work. [NOTE: An electronic transcripts is not needed to meet this requirement.]
  • Letters of Recommendation (4) 

For more detailed application requirements and guidelines see:

Faculty representative: Doug Juers

Internal nomination required: Yes

Selection and notification process: Nominations are initially reviewed by seven regional selection committees. The regional selection committees forward finalists to the Postgraduate Scholarship Committee for its review. The Postgraduate Scholarship Committee selects 29 male awardees and five alternates and 29 female awardees and five alternates each sports season. Alternate award recipients are notified at the same time notification letters are sent to award recipients. FARs and nominees may log into the online system to determine if the nominee is an award recipient after the final selection committee meeting.