Internal deadline: September 18, 2015*
National deadline: October 1, 2015

* Whitman internal application process: Complete application is required by internal deadline

Eligibility requirements

  • U.S. Citizen 
  • Undergraduate degree from accredited four-year college or university in the U.S.
  • Minimum GPA of 3.7
  • No prior study or degree from British universities/institutions 

Award summary and conditions: The Marshall Scholarship finances young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. Up to 40 Scholars are selected each year to study at the graduate level at a UK institution in any field of study. The scholarship pays for university fees, cost of living expenses, annual book grant, thesis grant, research and daily travel grants, fares to and from the U.S. and, where applicable, a contribution towards the support of a dependent spouse.

One-Year Marshall Scholarships: The one-year scholarship is aimed at applicants who wish to study in the UK, but have strong reasons that would mean a one-year scholarship would work better for them than the traditional two-year Marshall Scholarship. To be eligible for the one-year scholarship applicants must have a clear post-scholarship plan. This should demonstrate what the applicant plans to do immediately after the Marshall Scholarship and why one year spent in the UK would enhance these plans. This could be employment or further study. If the plan is for further study the candidates should demonstrate that they have already applied for law school, medical school or a PhD and would be able to defer entry for one year in order to take up the Marshall Scholarship. The one-year scholarship will be tenable for 12 months and it will not be possible to extend this scholarship beyond this period. It is a condition of the award that Marshall Scholars must proceed to a degree that can be completed within the 12 months and so it will not be possible to use this scholarship for research which does not lead to a degree in the UK. The application form for the one-year Marshall Scholarship is different from the application for the traditional two-year Marshall Scholarship and candidates will be asked to identify which scholarship they wish to apply for when registering for the online application. Please note that candidates are only allowed to apply for either the one-year or the two-year Marshall Scholarship. A candidate found applying for both will automatically be disqualified. 

Traditional Marshall Scholarships-Two years:  The traditional Marshall Scholarship is tenable for two academic years (i.e. 22 months), but may be extended by the Commission, though not beyond the end of a third academic year. Third-year extensions are granted by the Commission on a limited basis, for strong academic reasons, subject to the availability of funds. In addition, thanks to the generous support of the following Universities: 

  • Up to two third-year extensions may be granted by the University of Edinburgh to those pursuing a doctorate at Edinburgh.
  • Up to two third-year extensions may be granted by the London School of Economics and Political Science to those pursuing a doctorate at LSE.
  • Up to two third-year extensions may be granted by the University of Nottingham to those pursuing a doctorate at Nottingham
  • Up to five third-year extensions may be granted by the University of Oxford to those pursuing a doctorate at Oxford.
  • Up to two third-year extensions may be granted by the University of St Andrews to those pursuing a doctorate at St Andrews

EPA Marshall: Jointly funded by the Marshall Commission and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), these scholarships will support research specifically in the area of the environment and can be in any related field. Applicants may study at any appropriate UK Institution.  The EPA Marshall Scholarship Program provides an opportunity for exceptional U.S. students to begin or continue their graduate environmental studies at a British university. To be eligible for the EPA Marshall Scholarship, applicants must first be selected as Marshall Scholars, applying in the usual way, and must be pursuing a graduate degree in one of the following areas:

  • Physical, life or systematic sciences
  • Engineering and technology
  • Economics
  • Social and behavioral sciences
  • Urban and regional planning
  • Communication science

The proposed program of study must be demonstrably relevant to environmental protection, restoration or stewardship; environmental public health; or ecosystem health. Applicants whose work emphasizes the study of global environmental problems, international collaborative approaches to environmental problem solving, technology exchange programs or research to improve international dialog regarding the environment will be given first consideration. The Marshall Commission will pay for the first two years of the Scholarship and the Scholar will spend this time in the UK, and the EPA will pay for up to three additional years of study, which can be spent in the UK or the U.S., providing this research culminates in a doctoral degree. Any Marshall Scholar who is selected for research in an environmental field may be considered by the EPA for an EPA Marshall Scholarship.

Application process: online (except for transcripts, which are to be mailed)

Application requirements: Applications are made in one of eight regions in the United States. Candidates may apply in one region only - either that in which they have their permanent home address or ordinary place of residence/employment, or that in which they are studying. 

  • Online application
  • Letters of recommendation (4) 
  • Institutional Letter of Endorsement
  • Transcript (mailed); one original and 5 copies with id code on each

Faculty Representative: Keith Raether

Internal nomination required: Yes

National committee interview: Yes