Job hunting in today's economy? Career Center events to help in the transition

Monday, Feb 2, 2009

“The Career Center is pro-actively addressing the difficult economy to help students and alumni with job-seeking strategies,” said Susan Buchanan, center director. And while the basics still apply – start early, be focused and flexible, network and use the Career Center’s expertise – Buchanan and her staff have added the following special events to help in the transition into the job market:

Tuesday, Feb. 10, How to find a summer internship, 4 p.m., Reid 207;

Wednesday, Feb. 11, Whitman internship grant/Washington State work study summer internship funding info session, 4 p.m., Reid 207;

Wednesday, Feb. 18, Job seeking in a tough economy, 4 p.m., Reid GO2;

Thursday, Feb. 19, Career and Internship Fair, noon to 3 p.m., Young Ballroom, Reid Campus Center;

Saturday, Feb. 21, Alumni networking reception (in collaboration with alumni relations), 4 p.m., foyer, Hunter Conservatory;

Wednesday, Feb. 25, and Wednesday, March 4, Personal finance workshops (in collaboration with financial aid services), 7:30 p.m., Kimball Auditorium, Hunter Conservatory;

Thursday, March 5, the Sava and Danica Andjelkovic Endowed Lecture series presents “Making a Successful Transition,” by Phil Gardner ’69, nationally recognized researcher and lecturer on job recruiting trends, 4 p.m., Ballroom B, Reid Campus Center;

Tuesday, March 31, Job Seeking in a tough economy, 4 p.m., Reid 240;

Friday, April 24, Alumni networking reception from 1 to 2 p.m. in Reid Coffee House (in collaboration with alumni relations during alumni weekend).

Complete Career Center Spring 2009 Event Calendar at http://www.whitman.edu/content/career_center/events-calendar

The Career Center staff continues to pursue up-to-date information on trends, job search strategies and continuing educational opportunities for students and alumni, and, as always, Career Center services remain free, adds Buchanan.

-END-

CONTACT: Lenel Parish, Whitman College News Service, (509) 527-5156

parishlj@whitman.edu