The Faculty


Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19917.jpg

Jim Hanson, Director of Forensics


Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19912.jpg

Bob Withycombe, Department Chair, Associate Dean of Faculty

Bob traveled with the team a little bit this year including a rather famous trip to San Diego and Tijuana.

Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19916.jpg

Ryan Hagemann, Assistant Director of Forensics

Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19915.jpg

Charlotte Smith, Volunteer Assistant in Forensics

Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19919.jpg

Jennifer Becker, Volunteer Assistant in Forensics

Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19918.jpg

Nicole Matarelli-Levin, Volunteer Assistant in Forensics




Whitman News

 I. Whitman College in 1994-1995

A.     Thomas E. Cronin was the college president.

B.     Jason Smith, team member, became the ASWC president.

C.    Madeleine Eagon resigned as director of admissions, and was replaced by Chris Ellertson.

D.    The old Delta Tau Delta house was re-opened as Marcus House, an all-male residence for first-year students.

E.     A new ASWC bylaw required all funded groups to send representatives to congress meetings.

F.     Whitman’s Academic Council voted to eliminate the Senior Colloquium course from the college curriculum.

G.    Funding was cut for the Waiilatpu.

H.    The Pioneer ran ads for Pizza Hut and the Discover Card.

I.       Whitman Events: Blue Moon is born.


Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19924.jpg

Chris White, Andy Backlund, Sean Harris, Jared Phillips, Amanda Elegant, Bob Withycombe (behind), Steve Rowe, Jim Hanson



Speech Courses

Speech 210, Advanced Public Address is added (taught by Jim). Argumentation and Persuasion is renamed as Persuasion, Agitation and Social Movements.


Speech Department Description: Courses treat public speaking as a liberal art, proposing that such speaking is not a skill learned by rule but an exercise of judgment that can be no better than the speaker's understanding of the nature of the communicative acts.


SPEECH 110. Fundamentals of Speech, 4 hours.

SPEECH 221, 222. Principles and Practice of Forensics, 1 hours (individual events), 2 hours (debate).

SPEECH 270. Persuasion, Agitation and Social Movements, 4 hours.

SPEECH 370. Seminar: Western Rhetorical Thinking, 4 hours.

SPEECH 379, 380. Special Topics Courses. Rhetorical Criticism, Freedom of Speech, Background of African American Protest Rhetoric, Argumentation in the Law, Politics and Society

SPEECH 401, 402. Independent Study.


Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19922.jpg

Jean Finn and Tara Kerr won the inexperienced division of Intramural Debate. Jim Hanson presented awards to them.

Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19921.jpg

Jim judges (along with Craig and Mary Hanna) in the finals of the Intramural Debate Experienced Championship round.


Dana Jurika and Greg Schnorr defeated Casie Buckner and Matt Levin to take first place.



World News

A.     Cessna place breached White House security and crashed onto the White House lawn, killing the pilot.

B.     The O.J. Simpson trial got underway amidst lengthy jury selection and intense media coverage.

C.    Instead of an invasion, last-minute negotiations with Haitian officials resulted in the policing of Haiti by U.S. soldiers.

D.    Scores killed as terrorist's car bomb blows up block-long Oklahoma City Federal Building (April 19); Timothy McVeigh, 27, arrested as suspect (April 21); authorities seek second suspect, link right-wing paramilitary groups to bombing (April 22).

E.     Los Angeles jury finds O.J. Simpson not guilty of murder charges (Oct. 3).

F.     Million Man March draws hundreds of thousands of black men to capital (Oct. 16).

G.    US rescues Mexico's economy with $20-billion aid program (Feb. 21).

H.    Russian space station Mir greets first Americans (March 14). US shuttle docks with station (June 27).

I.       Death toll 2,000 in Rwanda massacre (April 22).

J.      Fighting escalates in Bosnia and Croatia (May 1). Warring parties agree on cease-fire (Oct. 5); sign peace treaty (Dec. 14).

K.     France explodes nuclear device in Pacific; wide protests ensue (Sept. 5).

L.     Israelis and Palestinians agree on transferring West Bank to Arabs (Sept. 24). Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin slain by Jewish extremist at peace rally (Nov. 4).


Description: Description: C:\Users\hansonjb\Documents\000-Debate Web NEW\history\1994_files\90-19923.jpg

Sean Harris, Steve Rowe, Chris White, Jared Phillips, Amanda Elegant; Tijuana, Mexico


Team Awards

·        Carlson-Perry place 1st in Open Policy Division at Gonzaga University Tournament.

·        Peterson-Rogers place 1st in Junior Policy Divistion at WWU.

·        Rowe-Phillips place 1st in Open Policy Divistion at Linfield.

·        Rogers-Elegant place 1st in Junior Policy at PLU.

·        Harris-Pointer place in top three at Linfield, U of O and Gonzaga.

·        Nguyen-Peterson place first in Open Policy division at Gonzaga.

·        Whitman Closes out Jr. and Open Final rounds at Gonzaga.


Competitors: Amanda Elegant, Andy Backlund, Chris White, Dave Perry, Erin Carlson, Jared Phillips, David Kearney , Jessie Sherwood, Jill Winder, Karen Skantze, Katy Dixon, Kerrie Leitch, Kristofer Peterson, Sean Harris, Shannon Henderson, Steve Rowe, Steve Pointer, Tim Clairmont


Outstanding Senior Award: Nicole Levin-Matarelli

Delta Gamma Award in Forensics: Jared Phillips

TEAM HONORS: National CEDA Trophy Entire CEDA Squad 1985-1994. Becker-Matarelli place 1st in Open Division Policy at Gonzaga Tournament, 3rd at WWU. Backlund-Phillips place Second in Senior Division Policy at Whitman Tournament


Debate at Whitman College

A. Intramural debate made a comeback on the campus spring semester. The winning team had the opportunity to capture $500 in prize money.

B. In November, high school teams traveled to Walla Walla for the Whitman College High School Tournament.

C. Intercollegiate debate

D. Whitman took 5th in the Whitman NFC tournament. Jessie Sherwood and David Kearney went undefeated in parli debate. Kristopher Peterson took 4th in senior extemp. In CEDA, three teams broke to quarterfinals and received many speaker awards.

E. Four teams traveled to the University of Oregon for the Northwest CEDA Champs. The teams were Andy Backlund and Jared Phillips, Steve Rowe and Amanda Elegant, Sean Harris and Chris White, and Erin Carlson and Dave Perry.

G. The team attended three national spring tournaments: parli debate at Willamette, CEDA at San Diego State, and IE at the University of Wisconsin.

H. During the year about 20 students traveled with the team.


Whitman adds parliamentary debate.


Whitman begins IM debate again after a hiatus since the 1950s.