The Faculty

Description: Description: http://www.whitman.edu/offices_departments/rhetoric/history/1965_files/90-1967.gif

Dean McSloy, Director of Forensics and Professor of Speech


Charles Weidner, Student Assistant


 Description: Description: http://www.whitman.edu/offices_departments/rhetoric/history/1965_files/90-1974.jpg

John Raymond Freimann, MFA; BS New York University, MFA, Fordham University

Charles David Haller, MFA, Assistant Professor of Dramatic Art and Speech


The Yearbook Said

 Description: Description: http://www.whitman.edu/offices_departments/rhetoric/history/1965_files/90-1977.jpg

This year's debate team was the largest team ever to compete for Whitman in intercollegiate forensics. The 36-member team debated the national intercollegiate proposition: Resolved, that law enforcement agencies in the United States should be given greater freedom in the investigation and prosecution of crime. The group competed in tournaments at Centralia College, Washington State University, the University of the Pacific, and Linfield College.


Whitman News

A.     Louis Perry was the college president.

B.     Bob Wallace was the ASWC president.

C.    Nine faculty were added while librarian Ruth Reynolds (a former Whitman debater) left after 40 years of service.

D.    Governor Dan Evans served as the convocation speaker and Senator Scoop Jackson delivered the commencement address while Ralph Bunche lectured at Whitman.

E.     Faculty set a deadline to eliminate discrimination.

F.     Student controversy centered around a Pioneer article which asked if fraternities have a place at Whitman.

G.    Whitman warms up with the "Hot Chocolate Hello Dance"

H.    Massive debates in the Pio rage as to whether fraternities should exist or not

I.       John Pierce gives a lecture featuring a computer that can make sounds

J.      Sigma Chis refuse to pledge Blacks; while Phi Deltas won't pledge either Blacks or Orientals

K.     Women start a petition to allow them to live elsewhere than Prentiss

L.     A massive landscape project begins to transform the area between the Amphitheatre and Maxey

M.    50% of Whitty grads are going to graduate school

N.    21 Seniors made the "Who's Who" list


Speech Major and Courses

THE MAJOR: Thirteen hours selected from courses in speech; Dramatic Art 47, 48; twelve hours selected from English 25, 26, 35, 36, 39, 40, 75, 76, 79, 80; three hours selected from History 27, 28, 57, 58, 61, 62, 64. Of the total of thirty-six hours, eighteen must be in courses numbered above 50. Advised: As much additional work in dramatic art as time permits.

SPEECH 11, 12. Fundamentals of Speech, 3 hours.

SPEECH 41. Theory and Practice of Discussion, 3 hours.

SPEECH 42. Argumentation and Persuasion, 3 hours.

SPEECH 43, 44. Principles and Practice of Debate, 2hours.

SPEECH 51. Business and Professional Speech, 3 hours.

SPEECH 53. Introduction to Radio and Television, 3 hours.

SPEECH 85, 86. Senior Honors Course, 3 hours.


World News

A. Fidel Castro announces that Che Guevara has resigned and left the country.

B. The Australian dollar is introduced

C. The final episode of the Dick Van Dyke Show airs

D. Leonid Brezhnev assumes power in the Soviet Union

E. Dr. Martin Luther King is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize

F. Malcolm X is assassinated

G. US troops are sent to the Dominican Republic

H. The Watts riots begin


Description: Description: http://www.whitman.edu/offices_departments/rhetoric/history/1965_files/90-1978.jpg

Malcolm Higgins

Winner of the Chester C. Maxey Award for excellence in forensics.


Team Awards

A. The debate team was the largest ever. Members included Dean Brett, Kathleen Fitzgerald, Dawn Haase, Esther Hartglass, Mel Higgins, Liahna Klenman, Nancy McCornack, Charles Penichet, Mary Lou Phillips, John Ramage, Cathy Shelton, John Silko, Denny Titus, Charles Weidner, David Wyckoff, Edward Clifford, Bobette De Butts, Jaems DeMeules, Janice Gordon, Kris Hamilton, Virginia Hoch, Richard Kahn, Edward Linder, Michael Miller, Brent Northup, John Ormiston, Linda Osborn, Barbara Osborn, Dwight Perkins, Pete Show, Scott Strickler, Kay Tai, Vicki Fress, Rick Bennett, Robert Hallare, and Howard Robinson.

B. The topic was “Resolved: That law enforcement agencies in the United States should be given greater freedom in the investigation and prosecution of crime.”

C. Charles Weidner was the student assistant and Dean McSloy was the coach.

D. Tournament results

1. Centralia

a. Tai took second in women’s oratory while Fitzgerald was third.

b. Fiess was a finalist in interpretive reading.

2. University of Puget Sound

a. Fitzgerald and Klenman were second in debate.

b. The team’s total record was 29-11.

3. Linfield College

a. Higgins won first in impromptu speaking.

b. Tai took second in junior Lincoln-Douglas debate.

c. Penichet was second in salesmanship.

4. Pi Kappa Delta

a. Whitman won one of the four superior ratings.

b. The team also won two of five excellent ratings.

5. Pacific Forensic League

a. DeMeules and Silko won second in debate.

b. Penichet took second in extemporaneous speaking.

c. Robart won second in after-dinner speaking.