Saturday, April 16, 2005

All-Conference Honors Bestowed
on Six Whitman Tennis Players

WALLA WALLA, Wash. -- Six members of the Whitman College men's and women's tennis squads have earned spots on the All-Northwest Conference tennis teams.

Seniors Carissa Klarich and Hannah Swee, who played No. 1 and No. 2 singles and formed Whitman's No. 1 doubles tandem, were both named to the All-NWC First Team. Swee, who made the First Team as a junior and the Second Team as sophomore, also received this spring's NWC Sportswoman of the Year award for women's tennis.

On the men's side, Whitman sophomore Steven Ly was named to the All-NWC First Team for the second time in two seasons. Sophomores Robbie Munday, Phalkun Mam and Dane Miller earned Second Team honors. A year ago, Munday and Mam joined Ly on the First Team while Miller nabbed Second Team recognition during his freshman season.

Senior captain Brad Changstrom was honored with this spring's NWC Sportsman of the Year award for men's tennis. Whitman men have won four of the last five sportsmanship awards. Whitman's Paola Vizcaino, a graduating senior last spring, won last year's sportsmanship honor for the women.

The Whitman men's team came ever so close to winning a second consecutive NWC title this spring, losing 4-3 in championship match. Whitman returns five of its top six players next season.


Dave Holden, Whitman Sports Information
(509) 527-5902;