Men's & Women's Cross Country at Whitman

1995 Whitman Men's Cross Country Roster

NameYearHometown // Previous School(s)
Dillon BushFr.Aniak AK // Aniak HS
Greg GillSo.Morrison CO // Bear Creek HS (Lakewood CO)
Brian HadleyJr.Sandpoint ID // Sandpoint HS
Ed HarriSr.Salem OR // Sprague HS
Derek HaynerJr.Federal Way WA // Decatur HS
Brett KmiecJr.Bellingham WA // Bellingham HS
Mike LanceFr.Bellevue WA // Newport HS
Matthew LongFr.Boise ID // Boise HS
Daniel MooreFr.Morrison CO // Bear Creek HS (Lakewood CO)
Jesse PhiloFr.Walla Walla WA // Walla Walla HS
Douglas PiersonFr.Portland OR // Jesuit HS
Trevor RasmussenSo.Seattle WA // Highline HS
Alex RolfeJr.Missoula MT // Sentinel HS
Curtis SteinbackSr.Walla Walla WA // Walla Walla HS
Jeff StrattonSr.Pocatello ID // Pocatello HS
David ToomeySo.Santa Rosa CA // Montgomery HS

1995 Whitman Women's Cross Country Roster

NameYearHometown // Previous School(s)
Emily AndersonJr.Fort Collins CO // Rocky Mountain HS
Koren BellFr.Fairbanks AK // West Valley HS
Jessica BissonnetteSr.Portland OR // Saint Mary Academy
Tanya BrowneSr.Eugene OR // Sheldon HS
Kathleen GibsonSr.Beaverton OR // Beaverton HS
Faye HutchisonFr.Snohomish WA // Lakeside School (Seattle WA)
Dorothy MetcalfJr.Fort Collins CO // Fort Collins HS
Kelly PointerFr.Corvallis OR // Crescent Valley HS
Melissa ThorneSo.Beaverton OR // Saint Mary Academy (Portland)

1995 Coaching Staff

Coach: Keith Jensen Asst. Coach: Paul Fredericks
Trainer: Juli Duffus Athletic Director: Max Seachris

1995 National Rankings

The Whitman College women's cross country team achieved its highest national ranking in school history when the NAIA national coaches poll was released Oct. 16, 1995. That poll ranked the Whitman women No. 2 in the nation, a notch higher than its previous best ranking. Shortly after that poll was released, however, team leader Jessica Bissonnette was sidelined by a stress fracture and Whitman began slipping in the polls.

The Whitman College men's team also achieved its highest-ever national ranking in the fall of 1995. The Whitman men rose to as high as 17th in the NAIA national coaches poll.

1995 NAIA All-America Scholar-Athletes

Whitman's Alex Rolfe and Dorothy Metcalf were honored by the NAIA as 1995 All-America Scholar-Athletes for cross country. The award goes to juniors and seniors who have a minimum cumulative grade point of 3.5. In addition, male athletes must have completed an 8,000-meter run in a time of 28.30 or less, while female athletes must have completed a 5,000-meter run in a time of 20:30 or less.

The Whitman women's cross country team also received an NAIA Scholar Team Award. To qualify, a team must have five competitors at the national championships with a combined grade point average of at least 3.0.