Climbing Center

Summer Information

Summer Hours

May 26 - mid-August
Monday-Thursday 6:30-9 p.m.

Kids Climbing Summer Sessions

All kids climbs include admission, rentals and facilitation.

Having fun while climbing is the primary aim of these sessions.

No refunds for missed days

 

Session #1; $64

Kids 6-11

Mon., June 16, Wed. June 18,

Mon. June 23, Wed June 25 

5:30 -7 p.m.

 

Session #2; $64

Ages 12-15

Tues., June 17, Thurs. June 19,

Tues June 24,Thurs June 26

 5:30 -7 p.m.

 

Session #3; $64

Kids 6-11

Mon., July 7, Wed., July 9

Mon., July 14, Wed., July 16

 

Session #4; $64

Ages 12-15

Tues., July 8, Thurs., July 10

Tues., July 15, Thurs., July 17

 

Session #5; $64

Kids 6-11

Mon., July 21, Wed., July 23

Mon., July 28, Wed., July 30

 

Session #6; $64

Kids 12-15

Tues, July 22, Thurs., July 24

Tues., July 29, Wed., July 31

 

Basic Clinics

Learn the knots, commands and belay techniques to be able to rock climb and belay others. (Ages: 14 to adults)

(Does not include entrance fees)

$10/person for clinic only.

Three dates to choose from:

Tues June 10   7-9 p.m.

Tues., July 8    7-9 p.m.

Tues.,  August 5  7-9 p.m.

 

 

Outside Climbing Day Trips (open to all ages)

Spring Mountain, OR

(minimum trip size=4 participants; max trip size=12 participants)

Sign up at Whitman Climbing Center. Payment needed at time of registration.

Includes: Transportation, Guides & all personal and group climbing equipment.

(Sign liability waiver at time of registration)

Food not included.

Trips return in early evening.

$40/person for Whitman students, staff, faculty and their family members

$60/person for community

 

Sat. June 28 – Meet at climbing Center at 7:30 a.m. to get gear before departing.

Sat. July 19 – Meet at climbing Center at 7:30 a.m. to get gear before departing.

Sat. Aug 2 – Meet at climbing Center at 7:30 a.m. to get gear before departing

About the Climbing Wall

The indoor climbing wall offers a wide variety of routes and climb types. Brien Sheedy, the Outdoor Program director and a mountain climber who has scaled the Seven Summits, helped design the facility. He rates it as one of the most innovative walls in the nation and believes it offers something for all levels of climbing and climbing instruction.

The climbing wall, comprising hundreds of imprint and free-form panels, has a total climbable surface of about 7,000 square feet. The main wall is 104 feet long and 39.24 feet at its highest point. An outer wall of windows allows for natural lighting while providing climbers with protection against ultraviolet sunlight.

Videos

Climbing Center Orientation Video 

Sweet Onion Crank 2013 Video Click Here!

Location

The Climbing Center is located on the corner of Park and Boyer Ave, across from Reid Campus Center. 47 Park Avenue. Located on South side of Sherwood Athletic Center. Must be accessed from SE door. DO NOT GO THROUGH SHERWOOD.

Contact Us

Call the Wall: (509) 527-5223
Call the director: (509) 386-4375

Email: wallacgt@whitman.edu & sheedybr@whitman.edu