Application for Fall 2012 Seminar

Application for Global Studies Faculty Development Seminar, Fall 2012

The Global Studies Steering Committee would like to invite faculty from all three divisions to submit applications for participation in the Fall 2012 Global Studies Faculty Development Seminar.

As you may know, in 2008 Whitman College was awarded a grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation to explore the “global” as it impacts our curriculum.  The grant funded opportunities for cross-disciplinary collaboration, with the aim both of enhancing existing courses and envisioning new ones.  Although we have completed the three years of funding under the Mellon Grant, the Provost/Dean of Faculty is committed to the continuation of the program. There are two main faculty development components of the global studies initiative – the Fall Faculty Development Seminar and the Summer Faculty Development and Course Enhancement Workshop.

Faculty Development Seminars: For the past three years, up to eight faculty members applied and were selected to participate in an intensive faculty development seminar to study global topics through a variety of disciplinary lenses. Seminar participants collaborate in the choice of readings for the seminar syllabus. Four participants from this seminar will design two new, team-taught courses on global themes to propose to the faculty and, if they are approved, will teach them during the following year, or, if necessary, in a subsequent year.  These courses should be highly interdisciplinary, and could focus on global themes such as global health, environment, trade, or culture.  The other four participants will lead a weeklong summer faculty development and course enhancement workshop.

The seminar enables each participant to have a one course release from his or her regular teaching-load during the Fall so as to be able to devote adequate time and attention to the seminar.  Please note that unlike the summer workshops, the Fall seminars will be designed primarily for faculty members already working on global themes and topics, but interested in intellectual collaborations with faculty from other disciplines.  Applicants must be faculty in the following categories: tenured and tenure-track, Forensic-track, or Senior Lecturer. All applicants should notify their department chairs of their interest in participating in the seminar, as soon as possible.

If you are interested in participating in the Fall 2012 seminar, please submit to the Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty, c/o Susan Bennett, (1) a one page statement that articulates your interest in this seminar, how you might be able to contribute to it, and what you hope to gain from it, and (2) a copy of your CV. Applications are due by 4:00 p.m., on Friday, January 6. Selections will be made by a committee composed of the Committee of Division Chairs, and the Director of the Global Studies Initiative, Bruce Magnusson.  Preference will be given to candidates who (a) demonstrate a commitment to global themes in their current teaching and/or research, (b) show an understanding of the importance of global studies in their disciplines, and (c) articulate specific ideas for crossing disciplinary boundaries in their teaching, and (d) have not previously participated in a seminar.  Please direct any questions you may have to Bruce Magnusson at (527-4939).

Global Studies Steering Committee
Bruce Magnusson (Director)
Michelle Acuff
Gaurav Majumdar
Jason Pribilsky
Elyse Semerdjian
Nicole Simek

Previous Fall Seminar Participants

Fall 2011 Seminar Participants
Theresa DiPasquale
Patrick Frierson
Brien Garnand
Donghui He
Jeanne Morefield
Matthew Reynolds
Lynn Sharp
Nicole Simek                                    

Fall 2010 Seminar Participants                                  Fall 2009 Seminar Participants
Michelle Acuff                                                        Shampa Biswas
Aaron Bobrow-Strain                                               Bruce Magnusson
Bill Bogard                                                             Gaurav Majumdar
Josie Hendrickson                                                   Jason Pribilsky
Bruce Magnusson                                                   Elyse Semerdjian
Kari Norgaard                                                         Jacqueline Woodfork
Jon Walters                                                           Zahi Zalloua