Academic Calendar

Fall Semester, 2014

August 28, Thursday Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for new students.
Check-in is from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
August 29, Friday Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for all students.
Convocation at 3 p.m.
September 2, Tuesday Fall semester classes begin.
September 12, Friday Last day to add classes.
October 11-14 Midsemester break; no classes.
October 15, Wednesday Last day to withdraw from classes or the college without record.
October 24-26 Family Weekend.
November 7, Friday Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades.
Close of P-D-F registration period.
November 6-14 Spring semester preregistration period.
November 21, Friday Thanksgiving vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday, and ends at 8 a.m. Monday, December 1. All residence halls remain open.
December 12, Friday Last day of classes, fall semester.
Honors theses due in library for December ’12 candidates.
December 15-19 Final examination period.
December 19, Friday Fall semester ends. All residence halls close at noon Saturday, December 20.

Spring Semester, 2015

January 16, Friday Orientation for new students and parents begins.
January 18, Sunday Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for returning students.
January 19, Monday Martin Luther King, Jr. Day; no classes.
January 20, Tuesday First day of classes.
January 30, Friday Last day to add classes.
February 16, Monday Presidents’ Day; no classes.
February 27, Friday Last day to withdraw from classes or the college without record.
March 14, Friday Spring vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday (all residence halls close at 9 a.m., Saturday, March 15) and ends at 8 a.m., Monday, March 30. (All residence halls open at noon, Sunday, March 29).
April 10, Friday Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades.
Close of P-D-F registration period.
April 7, Tuesday Whitman Undergraduate Conference; no classes.
April 24-May 1 Preregistration period for the fall semester 2013.
May 12, Tuesday Last day of classes, spring semester.
May 13, Wednesday Reading day; no classes. Honors theses due in library for May ’13 candidates.

May 14-19

May 21, Thursday

Final examination period.

All residence halls close at noon.

May 24, Sunday Commencement. Residence halls close at 6 p.m.