2013-2014 Academic Calendar

All dates are inclusive. A more detailed College Calendar is published by the Registrar’s Office in August of each academic year.

2014-2015 Academic Year

Fall Semester, 2013

August 29, Thursday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for new students. Check-in is from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

August 30, Friday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for all students. Convocation at 3 p.m.

September 3, Tuesday — Fall semester classes begin.

September 16, Monday — Last day to add classes.

October 14-15 — Midsemester break; no classes.

October 16, Wednesday — Last day to drop from classes or the college without record.

October 25-27 — Family Weekend.

November 7-13 — Preregistration period for the spring semester 2014.

November 8, Friday — Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades. Close of P-D-F registration period.

November 22, Friday — Thanksgiving vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday and ends at 8 a.m., Monday, December 2. All residence halls remain open.

December 13, Friday — Last day of classes, fall semester. Honors theses due in library for Fall thesis candidates.

December 16-20 — Final examination period.

December 20, Friday — Fall semester ends. All residence halls close at noon Saturday, December 21.

Spring Semester, 2014

January 17, Friday — Orientation for new students and parents begins.

January 19, Sunday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for returning students.

January 20, Monday — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes.

January 21, Tuesday — Spring semester classes begin.

January 31, Friday — Last day to add classes.

February 17, Monday — Presidents’ Day; no classes.

February 28, Friday — Last day to drop from classes or the college without record.

March 14, Friday — Spring vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday (all residence halls close at 9 a.m., Saturday, March 15) and ends at 8 a.m., Monday, March 31 (all residence halls open at noon, Sunday, March 30).

April 8, TuesdayWhitman Undergraduate Conference; no classes.

April 11, Friday — Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades. Close of P-D-F registration period.

April 25-30 — Preregistration period for the fall semester 2014.

May 13, Tuesday — Last day of classes, spring semester.

May 14, Wednesday — Reading day; no classes. Honors theses due in library for Spring thesis candidates.

May 15-20 — Final examination period.

May 22, Thursday — Residence halls close at 5 p.m.

May 25, SundayCommencement.

2014-2015 Academic Calendar

Fall Semester, 2014

August 28, Thursday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for new students. Check-in is from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.

August 29, Friday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for all students. Convocation at 3 p.m.

September 2, Tuesday — Fall semester classes begin.

September 12, Friday — Last day to add classes.

October 13-14 — Midsemester break; no classes.

October 15, Wednesday — Last day to drop from classes or the college without record.

October 24-26 — Family Weekend.

November 6-11 — Preregistration period for the spring semester 2015.

November 7, Friday — Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades. Close of P-D-F registration period.

November 21, Friday — Thanksgiving vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday and ends at 8 a.m., Monday, December 1. All residence halls remain open.

December 12, Friday — Last day of classes, fall semester. Honors theses due in library for Fall thesis candidates.

December 15-19 — Final examination period.

December 19, Friday — Fall semester ends. All residence halls close at noon Saturday, December 20.


Spring Semester, 2015

January 16, Friday — Orientation for new students and parents begins at 9 a.m.

January 18, Sunday — Residence halls open at 9 a.m. for returning students.

January 19, Monday — Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes.

January 20, Tuesday — Spring semester classes begin.

January 30, Friday — Last day to add classes.

February 16, Monday — Presidents’ Day; no classes.

February 27, Friday — Last day to drop from classes or the college without record.

March 13, Friday — Spring vacation begins at 6 p.m., Friday (all residence halls close at 9 a.m., Saturday, March 14) and ends at 8 a.m., Monday, March 30 (all residence halls open at noon, Sunday, March 29).

April 7, Tuesday — Whitman Undergraduate Conference; no classes.

April 10, Friday — Final day to withdraw from classes or the college with W grades. Close of P-D-F registration period.

April 24-29 — Preregistration period for the fall semester 2015.

May 12, Tuesday — Last day of classes, spring semester.

May 13, Wednesday — Reading day; no classes. Honors theses due in library for Spring thesis candidates.

May 14-19 — Final examination period.

May 21, Thursday — Residence halls close at 5 p.m.

May 24, Sunday — Commencement.